Published: Tuesday, 25 July 2017

The International Journal of Military History and Historiography has been continuously published (from 1978 to 2015 as the International Bibliography of Military History - IBMH) on behalf of the International Commission of Military History (ICMH), which can trace back its origins to 1938. 

Traditionally its main focus was on book reviews and review articlesSince the journal’s move to Brill in 2011, there has been an additional emphasis on historiographical articles, and the portfolio has been enlarged to include original research articles. The journal thus offers its readers and authors a platform that includes original research articles on any military historical topic from antiquity to the contemporary period that can appeal to an international readership. 

Historiographical and review articles cover issues of major significance or deal with the state of military history in a specific ICMH member country. The short reviews (in the “Bibliographical Records” section) discuss newly published books, which are of historiographical relevance either for the international military history community or for one of ICMH’s national commissions.

Go to the Journal webpage

Authors Instructions

Journals Brochures - Flyer


Dr Marco Wyss, Centre for War and Diplomacy, Lancaster University, UK 
Send email 

Associate and Reviews Editor 
Prof. Dr Winfried Heinemann, Center of Military History and Social Sciences – ZMSBw (Germany) 
Send email 

Associate Editor for North America 
Dr Harold E. Raugh, Jr., Command Historian, U.S. Army Europe 

Associate Editor for Southern Africa 
Prof. Dr André Wessels, Senior Professor, University of the Free State, Bloemfontein, South Africa 

Associate Editor for Spain and Latin America 
Coronel Ejercito de Tierra (r), DEM Fernando Fontana de Grassa, Centro Superior de Estudios de la Defensa Nacional, Madrid, Spain 

Advisory Board 
Prof. Karen Hagemann, University of North Carolina 
Prof. Nicola Labanca, Università degli Studi di Siena 
Prof. Antonio Marquina Barrio, Universidad Complutense de Madrid 
Prof. Sönke Neitzel, Universität Potsdam 
Prof. Georges-Henri Soutou, Paris-Sorbonne/Institut de France 
Prof. Hew Strachan, University of St Andrews 
Prof. Geoffrey Wawro, University of North Texas 

Bibliographical Committee of the International Commission of Military History 
President: Dr Marco Wyss (see above) 
Secretary General: Prof. Dr Winfried Heinemann (see above) 

Brg. (Res) Dr Daniel Asher, IDF CSC (Israel) 
Prof. Dr Jordan Baev, Defense Advanced Research Institute, G.S. Rakovski National Defense Academy, Sofia (Bulgaria) 
Dr Gabriele Bosch, ZMSBw - Bibliothek (Germany) 
Dr Davide Borsani, Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, Milano (Italy) 
Myke Cole, U.S. Commission of Military History (USA) 
Prof. Dr Lars Erikson-Wolke, Military History Department, National Defence University, Stockholm (Sweden) 
Dr Zisis Fotakis, Assistant Professor, Hellenic Naval Academy (Greece) 
Prof. Dr Winfried Heinemann (see above) 
Dr Andreas Karyos, National Struggle Museum and University of Nicosia (Cyprus) 
Michel Loustau, French Commission of Military History (France) 
Col. M.A. José Miguel Moreira Freire, Director of Military Academy Library, Lisbon (Portugal) 
Dr Anselm van der Peet, Netherlands Institute of Military History (The Netherlands) 
Prof. Dr Dumitru Preda, Directeur de la direction des Archives Diplomatiques, Ministère des Afffaires étrangères (Romania) 
Dr Claudia Reichl-Ham, Research and Publications Department, Austrian Army Museum (Austria) 
Dr Adam Storring, King's College London (UK) 
Prof. Dr Pasi Tuunainen, Senior Lecturer and Adjunct Professor in Military History, University of Eastern Finland, Joensuu (Finland) 
Sr. Col. Zhou Xiaoning, Academy of Military Science, Chinese PLA, Beijing (China). 

Honorary Presidents
Col. Daniel Reichel (†) (Founding Member) (Switzerland) 
Brig. Jean Langenberger (†) (Switzerland) 
Maj. Dr. Dimitry Queloz (Switzerland) 

Honorary Member: 
Gso. Ma. Jarl E. Kronlund (Finland) 

Founding Members: 
Mrs. Marie-Annick Hepp (France) 
Gen. P. A. Jiline (†) (Russia) 
Col. J. Pariseau (†) (Canada) 
Col. D. M. Pedrazzini (Switzerland) 
Hofrat Dr Manfried Rauchensteiner (Austria) 
Prof. Dr Jürgen Rohwer (†) (Germany) 
Capt. C. G. Strandman (Sweden) 

Dr James Hogue, University of North Carolina at Charlotte 
Dr Ann Schreiner